Thing 1

16 May

CC image courtesy of Mike Licht, NotionsCapital.com on Flickr

So, here we go. After months of talking about it, I am finally up and running with a blog. A little late perhaps, but I’ve been prompted by cpd23 to get my thoughts on librarian/information-type ruminations out to the world. Or at least the librarian world, who seem to be a lovely, friendly bunch so hopefully all will be well.

By way of introduction, my name is Jen and I’m currently one of the graduate trainees in a fantastic art library in London. I’ve been passionate about starting a career in libraries for a few years now and I was absolutely thrilled to get this traineeship. However, they’ll be chucking me out by September in favour of some shiny new trainees and – fingers crossed – I’ll be studying for my masters in library and information studies next year and working somewhere equally exciting.

As my graduate trainee year whizzes by, I’m learning so much about not only the work that goes in inside a library but all the amazing things that librarians do outside of their place of work. I’ve been inspired by talking to colleagues  and library professionals working in all sorts of sectors that I’ve met through networking online and offline. Cpd23 seems like the perfect way for me to get even more involved, further my professional development, pick up some skills and make some great contacts.

2 Responses to “Thing 1”

  1. strawberriesofintegrity May 17, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    Hi Jen, Just contacting a few 23 people that are tagged as working in HE. I work in HE in Australia. How wonderful to be working an art library – hard to get into over here !
    Have to say I was intrigued by your blog title, and then interested in your post about your PD day. I have only read about the day in my feeds, but you were actually there!! Ned Potter’s presentation looked great!

  2. Jen Laurenson May 17, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    Hi there, thanks for your comment! I do love working in an art library and hope I end up back in one someday. Since my undergraduate degree was in history of art, it’s been a great place to do my graduate traineeship.
    Ned’s presentation was fantastic, it was great to actually hear him talk after reading his blog for so long!

    Jen

Leave a Reply

